Learning To Be Our Best
Utility links
Board of Education
​In Canada, education is a provincial responsibility. Under the School Act of British Columbia, each school district is required to have a Board of Education, which takes on much of the responsibility for the operation of public schools.
The Board of Education is elected locally every four years. The role of the board is to govern the education system of their community in a progressive and educationally sound manner.
There are seven trustees on the Campbell River Board of Education, who were elected October 20, 2018.

Campbell River Board of Education

​John Kerr
​​Kat Eddy
Shannon Briggs
Richard Franklin
​Daryl Hagen
​Joyce McMann
Susan Wilson

Public Board Meetings

Public meetings are held every three weeks, on a Tuesday night. Community members are welcome to attend public meetings.
At public board meetings, school trustees debate and vote to determine a majority decision on educational issues.



Individuals and groups are welcome to make presentations to the board. Presentations may not exceed 10 minutes unless approved by the board chair and there will be no more than 20 minutes allotted for all presentations to the board at each meeting.

Anyone wishing to make a presentation to the board must submit a completed Application to Present to the Board of Education form with all supporting material that will be used as part of the presentation to the secretary-treasurer's office by noon of the Wednesday preceding the public meeting that they wish to present at. The application will be at the discretion of the board chair.

Individuals or groups will be advised by the Friday prior to the board meeting whether their presentation application has been approved.


Question Period

At the end of each public board meeting, an opportunity is given for members of the public to ask questions. 

There are two ways to submit a question to the Board of Education:

  • In writing and sent to the superintendent's office; and
  • During the public meeting questions shall be submitted in written form and signed by the person posing the question.

All questions will be submitted to the superintendent prior to the start of the question period and directed to the board chair. Questions will be asked in the order of submission and priority given to those who have not presented during the public meeting portion of the agenda.

Only questions on agenda items will be answered, if the information is readily available, at the public meeting. If the question is not answered at the meeting, the individual asking the question will be contacted in a timely manner.

There will be a limit of one question per person at a public meeting and the question period is limited to 15 minutes.